Yoga Sūtra Chapter Three verse 13

एतेन भूतेन्द्रियेषु धर्मलक्षणावस्था परिणामा व्याख्याताः ॥१३॥

etena bhūta-indriyeṣu dharma-lakṣaṇa-avasthā-pariṇāmā-vyākhyātāḥ ||13||

By this transformation,
are the essential qualities, characteristics
and state in the elements and senses explained.

etena - by thisbhūta - material element, one of the 5 elements; that which is or exists, any living being; being or being like anything, consisting of, mixed or joined withindriya - faculty of sense; sense; organ of sense; organs of motor action and sensory perceptiondharma - essential qualities, according to the nature of anything; highest duty; customary observance or prescribed conductlakṣaṇa - a mark, sign, symbol, token, characteristic, attribute, quality; indicating, expressing indirectly; the act of aiming at, aim, goal, scope, object; a symptom or indication of diseaseavasthā - state; to abide in a state or condition; to be found, exist, be present; to take one's stand, remain standing;pariṇāma - transformation into; change, alteration, development, evolutionvyākhyātā - explained; that explains or expounds

Commentaries and Reflections

Commentary by T Krishnamacharya:

Yoga is that which enables us
to sustain what is required and
reduce that which is not required.”
(Here Yoga is Avasthā)

“The changes we see in one person,
(in terms of Dharma, Lakṣaṇa and Avasthā)
are because of Karma Vāsana.
The Lakṣaṇa or Avasthā that appear
very much depend on Karma Vāsana.”