Yoga Sūtra Chapter Two verse 29

यम नियमासन प्राणायाम प्रत्याहार धारणा ध्यान समाधयोऽष्टावङ्गानि ॥२९॥

yama-niyama-āsana-prāṇāyāma-pratyāhāra-dhāraṇā-dhyāna-samādhayaḥ aṣṭau-aṅgāni ||29||

Restraints, observances, posture, extending the breath,
withdrawal from the senses, concentration, meditation and integration
are the eight limbs.

yama - the act of checking or curbing, suppression, restraint; self-control forbearance, any great moral rule or duty; any rule or observanceniyama - observances; restraint of the mind; a rule or precept; obligation; restraining, checking, holding backāsana - particular posture; sitting, sitting down; seat, place, stool; abiding, dwellingprāṇāyāma - extending the breathpratyāhāra - withdrawal from the senses; withdrawal, abstraction; withdrawing, re-absorption or dissolution of the world; drawing back (troops from a battle), retreatdhāraṇā - retaining, keeping back; fixation; collection or concentration of the mind; to exercise concentration; the act of holding, bearing, wearing, supporting, maintaining;dhyāna - meditation, thought, reflection; visualisation; mental representation of the personal attributes of a deity; profound and abstract religious meditationsamādhi - putting together; communion; absorption; combining; integrationaṣṭa - eightaṅga - a limb; the body

Commentaries and Reflections

Commentary by Paul Harvey:

“The First and Second Chapters of the Yoga Sūtra
can be linked to the teaching concepts of
Śikṣaṇa, Rakṣaṇa and Cikitsā Krama.
In that the Samādhi Yoga in Chapter One
can be seen as apt for a Śikṣaṇa situation,
whereby the primary aim is discernment, as in
exploring what lies within the sense of I-Am.
Whereas in Chapter Two, the Kriya Yoga section
can be seen as being apt for a Cikitsā situation,
whereby the primary aim is recovering, as in
reducing agitation through lifestyle changes.
and the Bāhya Aṅga section of Aṣṭāṅga Yoga
can be seen as being apt for a Rakṣaṇa situation,
whereby the primary aim is establishing stability,
through a formal practice within a Yoga Sādhana.”