Sāṃkhya Kārikā verse 12

prīti-aprīti-viṣāda-ātmakāḥ prakāśa-pravṛtti-niyamārthāḥ |
anyonya-abhibhava-āśraya-janana-mithuna-vṛttayaḥ ca guṇāḥ ||

prīti - any pleasurable sensation, pleasure, joy, gladness, satisfactionaprīti - dislike, aversion, enmityviṣāda - dejection, depression, despondency; despair; lassitude, distress, disappointmentātmaka - taking the role of our essenceprakāśa - clearness, brightness, splendour, lustre, light; visible, shining, brightpravṛtti - activity, exertion, efficacy, function; finer cognition, special cognition, sensuous cognition; moving onwards, advance, progressniyama - observances; restraint of the mind; a rule or precept; obligation; restraining, checking, holding backartha - purpose, aim; sense, meaning, notion; thing, objectanyonya - one another, mutualabhibhava - disappearanceāśraya - relation of dependence; correspondence; that to which anything is annexed, or with which anything is closely connected, or on which anything depends or rests; substratum, place of residencejanana - generating, begetting, producing, causingmithuna - paired, forming a pairvṛtti - fluctuation; modification; turning; set in motion, course of action, behaviour, movement; activity, function; profession, mode of life or conduct, course of action, behaviourca - andguṇa - an ingredient or constituent or attribute of nature; a property or characteristic of all created things; qualities; a quality, peculiarity, attribute or property; the peculiar properties of the letters

Commentaries and Reflections

Commentary by Paul Harvey:

The Nature of the three Guṇa are Gratifying, Painful and Depressing,
(they serve) Brightness, Endeavour and Restraint, and are mutually Supressing, Supporting, Producing, Co-existing, Fluctuating.