Navarātri or the Nine Nights of Durgā as a time for Mantra Sādhana……


The ninenight long Nava Rātri, an important occasion in India, is celebrated as a time to honour the Divine Feminine, especially the Goddess Durgā within the Indian tradition. It will commence today Sunday 15th October 2023, the first day of the month of Aśvin, according to the Hindu calendar. During this time the primary focus is Durgā manifesting through three primary aspects of the Divine Feminine.

Thus for the first three nights, the focus is around the Divine Feminine in her power-bestowing aspect known as Durgā. For the second three nights, the focus is around the Divine Feminine in her prosperity-bestowing aspect known as Lakṣmī. For the third three nights, the focus is around the Divine Feminine in her wisdom-bestowing aspect known as Sarasvatī.

The tenth and final day, on Tuesday 24th October 2023, is a celebration of the totality of the Divine Feminine as represented by all three of the above aspects re-merging together within one ‘Sacred Being’ or Tri Devī.  Together, the ten days represent a time for an intensification of specific aspects of our personal Sādhana through practices devoted towards the Divine Feminine aspect of the universal dimension of being.

In this context it is said that this is an important time for an intensification of our Japam Sādhana through the recitation of Mantra, and at this time, especially around Durgā. For example, an auspicious practice during Nava Rātri  is firstly, reciting the 108 names of Durgā daily over the first 3 days, secondly, reciting the 108 names of Lakṣmī daily over the next 3 days, and thirdly,  reciting the 108 names of Sarasvatī daily over the next 3 days.

Finally, on day 10 known as Vijaya Daśamī or the day of victory, the focus is on Durgā as a homage to her victory over Mahiṣāsura. So a final day 108 names to Durgā can complete the 10 day Sādhana where the Japam realises 1080.

With all wishes for this propitious time
Śrī Durgāyai Namaḥ

Downloadable 108 Sacred Name PDF’s in Romanised Saṃskṛta:
1. The 108 sacred names of Durgā with chant notations
2. The 108 sacred names of Sarasvatī with chant notations
3. The 108 sacred names of Lakṣmī without chant notations
(though the cadence will be recognisable as it is the same for all three recitations)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.