T Krishnamacharya on Kriyā Yoga from the Yogavallī

Picture courtesy of KYM Archives

The Yoga Sūtra is divided into four chapters.

The first chapter called Samādhi Pādaḥ assumes the aspirant has progressed adequately to be in a state called Samāhita.

Such a person is not easily agitated.
They have a clearer perception to comprehend concepts such as Īśvara, Vairāgya.

What about others who are known as Vyutthita Citta,
a mind easily prone to agitations and distractions?

This second chapter known as Sādhana Pādaḥ caters to them.

Chapter Two verse 1 – Kriyā Yoga

“The activites of Yoga are
self discipline, self-inquiry and contemplation on the divine.”

The first step consists of: